Posts Tagged With: Editors

Minor Victories – Minor Victories

Comprising Rachel Goswell of Slowdive, Stuart Braithwaite of Mogwai, and brothers Justin and James Lockey, supergroup Minor Victories present their debut self-titled album. The new album comprises many elements from each respective members original groups, offering an incredible shoegaze album experience scattered with remnants of post-rock and indie-rock. At the forefront of the album is Rachel Goswell’s gorgeous vocals, saturated beneath layers of intense guitar and bass that build up phenomenally. Everything equates to an impressive album experience, marred perhaps by the inclusion of particular tracks, but overall serving as a wonderful introduction to this newly founded super-group.

On Minor Victories, we’re presented an powerful album experience, where each respected member utilizes their own skill, bringing a sharp edge to the arguably bloated shoegaze genre. All the basic elements of shoegaze are present on the record, from airy vocals to huge walls of noise that push everything along at an incredible pace. In spite of this, everything feels incredibly fresh and new, with the band drawing many ideas out of the genre and presenting it all in one very well structured and cohesive package. There’s a powerful energy on the album that immediately enters the foreground and refuses to let go, even as it shifts and morphs through different musical passages.

Minor Victories have done a great job at adding a level of diversity to their music, whilst also making it all feel part of some larger story. This ranges from shifting from dynamic tracks to gentler tracks, helping with the flow of the album and preventing it from sounding a little too stagnant. This mostly seems to work until we arrive at ‘For You Always’, featuring Mark Kozelek. Whilst the track itself contains many merits, it seems to disrupt the very strong flow of the album itself, perhaps due to Kozelek’s vocal delivery, which although works well on his own records, feels a little off this time round, as though it is struggling to fit into the dynamic of the album.

Though there’s a few weak moments here and there on Minor Victories, the sheer strengths of the album’s highlights help to elevate this album as one of the strongest releases of this year. Fans of each artist and their respective bands will no doubt find a lot to be enjoyed on this record, which really showcases some of the best elements of each member’s respective talents. With a wonderful range of intensely dynamics tracks to achingly beautiful ones, Minor Victories showcase a great creative streak that has resulted in a wonderful album experience. One only hopes that there’ll be more to come in the future.

Album Rating:

  • ★★★★☆  4/5

Selected Songs:

  • Give Up  The Ghost
  • Scattered Ashes (Song For Richard)
  • Folk Arp
  • Higher Hopes

Minor Victories’ debut album ‘Minor Victories’ is out now.

Categories: Albums, Reviews | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

The Weight Of Your Love – Editors

Editors seemed to be one of the indie-rock bands who were right in the forefront around five or so years ago. Bands like The Killers, Razorlight and Editors themselves, seemed to be storming the music scene with indie-rock albums. Then everything arguably faded away, leaving the bands in the hands of their fans. Subsequent albums by these various bands seem to display some ingenuity, but never quite reach the heights of their greatest moments. It’s satisfying then, when a band in particular seem to produce an album that is just worthy of their repertoire, and also reminds us why we fell in love with them in the first place. Editors’ fourth album is one that does just that, being (perhaps) one of their most rewarding albums so far in their career.

I’ve felt that Editors were one of those indie-rock bands who had an incredible amount of appeal, with Tom Smith’s baritone vocals providing incredible performances both live and on studio albums. There have been many enjoyable songs by Editors, though I’ve never warmed to their albums as a whole. Whilst there’s a great number of enjoyable songs, it seems their whole albums fall short, with the inclusions of songs that just fall short overall. Editors’ latest album ‘The Weight Of Your Love’ is perhaps one of their first to not fall short on every song, and instead is an incredibly interesting listen throughout. Editors seem to combine all the various styles they’ve learnt over the years into one big sound that features indie-rock anthems and dark synth-pop tracks, making a very diverse and interesting album. It is arguably one of their best since ‘An End Has A Start’, though it is perhaps ultimately more rewarding.

‘The Weight Of Your Love’ is by no means perfect though, and whilst it may be arguable one of Editors best albums so far, it still falls short just like many of their previous releases (albeit, it doesn’t fall as short). A few tracks on the album, whilst perhaps being interesting to some degree, seem to not fit in the overall structure of the album itself, and instead become a little forgettable as it progresses from track to track. I only find it frustrating considering that Editors are clearly capable of writing great songs, but they’re never consistent in writing great songs that last an entire album length.

Editors can still say they’ve done themselves proud, and have certainly shown a lot of progression since their earlier work. It is interesting how ‘The Weight Of Your Love’ seems to be a return back to Editor’s roots in music, whilst also featuring many of their new styles they’ve learnt over the years. In fairness to Editors, they’ve worked it well, creating an album that seemingly spans a few genres, but manages to combine them all with a great flow. There’s a lot to enjoy on ‘The Weight Of Your Love’, which should please fans of Editors, both of their old style, and their somewhat newer style.

Album Rating:

  • ★★★★☆  4/5

Selected Songs:

  • The Weight
  • What Is This Thing Called Love?
  • Nothing
  • Two-Hearted Spider

Editors’ fourth studio album ‘The Weight Of You Love’ is set for release on 1st July 2013.

Categories: Albums, Reviews | Tags: , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Create a free website or blog at